No power in 3rd/4th cylinders

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No power in 3rd/4th cylinders

Hello everyone, I recently bought an 83 gs 750t with 30000 miles. The problem im having is that the 3rd/4th cylinders are firing. I had the carbs cleaned at a shop. new spark plugs, new air fliter, new battery, new petcock , inline fuel filter and new stator. With the carbs I myself have tried to sync them but im not a professional. If I switch the coil wires from clyinder 1 with 4. 1 will still fire no problem, 4 will not. Same if I switch 2 and 3. 2 will still fire but 3 will not. I repeated that process with the spark plugs and got the same result. Im at a lose of what it could be. Ant suggestions?

I think the shop didn't do a good job on your carbs!

Is the bike stock? Do the cylinders come alive if you open up the throttle? Are the plugs wet with gas?

Comment

It wasn't until I broke down and took the carbs apart and soaked the jets---all of them in Gunk for 24 hrs that I got my bike running right. Of course there was also the valve adjustment and the synching the carbs and a lot of general cleaning of electrical connections but the bike is now firing great! Read and follow the Bass cliff site carb rebuild steps and take a bunch of pictures as you tear down ---wish I had--and pay strict attention to detail and you can't go wrong!

Good luck

Comment

Compression on these cylinders?
        Fuel on the spark plugs?
        1983 GS 1100E w/ 1230 kit, .340 lift Web Cams, Ape heavy duty valve springs, 83 1100 head with 1.5mm oversized SS intake valves, 1150 crank, Vance and Hines 1150 SuperHub, Star Racing high volume oil pump gears, 36mm carebs Dynojet stage 3 jet kit, Posplayr's SSPB, Progressive rear shocks and fork springs, Dyna 2000, Dynatek green coils and Vance & Hines 4-1 exhaust.
        1985 GS1150ES stock with 85 Red E bodywork.

Comment

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. Thenewguy,