1983 Gs850G Help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1983 Gs850G Help!

hi guys, i have an 850 which i have been riding for 10 years. 2 years ago i had a major wiring disaster which made me have to scrap the old wiring harness, and get a new one. the new one was from a similar bike from around the same year.
    last year, i was riding on the hiway, goin about 75 when my bike suddenly bogged down to an idle. any time/every time after that, when i start the bike up, it will idle fine, but if i give it gas, it just bogs down. when i release the gas, the engine revvs up for a minute, then goes back to idle. if i ever-so-slowly, the rpms will increase up to a point (tach is not working) then bog back down. the highest i can rev the engine is with the choke on full. naturally i figured this to be a carb problem. i pulled the carbs off, and cleaned them. put them back on, and the bike does the same thing. so i pulled them off again, took them to my dad's, and WE cleaned them. put them back on. no change. took them off again, and had my friend come over, and we cleaned them again. my carbs are cleaner than anybody on this forum's carbs. no change in result. my dad thinks its electrical. i wonder if i should rebuild the carbs with new jets/floats. here's the issue, either route from here (electrical, or carbs) will start costing me money. i am broke. what do you guys think?

my bike has that same issue...if not very close...

i did the coil relay mod...check all the wires around your fusebox and under the seat...

Comment

Comment

the coil relay mod?

Originally posted by gs850cafe View Post
        my bike has that same issue...if not very close...

i did the coil relay mod...check all the wires around your fusebox and under the seat...
        thank you for the quick response! what is a coil relay mod? what am i checking the wires for? thanks!!

Comment

Originally posted by Gnommad View Post