Rebuild over the winter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rebuild over the winter?

So I am thinking about doing a teardown/restoration over the winter with my 19 year old son. This is my GS550L as she sits today:

All-in-all, it's not in bad shape. Chrome has some rust specks, some rust on the frame and some of the bolts, but not a lot. I've got new rear shocks/springs ordered and coming this week. It's got about 17K miles on it. It runs great, at least as far as a noob rider can tell. Engine is smooth through the full range of RPM. I already did a carb rebuild/clean, replaced intake ports and o-rings.

Before I start, I want to make sure I am not biting off more than I can chew, as I've never done a bike restoration before.

My thought is to do it from November through March, so it is ready to ride when winter is over. I figure teardown to take 1-2 weekends, and reassembly to take 3-4 weekends. My thought is to have all work done by the end of February, so I can begin putting it back together. Is this amount of time reasonable for teardown and reassembly?

That leaves me 3 1/2 months (mid-Nov through end of Feb) to work on all of the components and get everything cleaned up and painted.

The engine seems fine, so I was not planning a rebuild, just to clean it up, and maybe paint it.

Is this reasonable?

Glen

Mine was supposed to take that long, but it went overtime and my end got extended by 2 months, not a big deal, as I was in no rush to finish, as I said to myself it will be done when it's done.

but your time frame is reasonable and you should make it....

you can check out my rebuild thread to get an idea of what your in for...

Ohhhhhh, make your pics a weeeeeeeee bit smaller......LOL

Cheers

and have fun

Comment

If you've not done this sort of thing before I would guess you have worked the time out pretty well.