Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to forum. Love my GS450

Hi folks!

My name is Lee. I live in N. Illinois near Winnebago. I have owned a GS450L for nearly a year. Bought last June with 8,000 miles managed to put nearly 6,000 miles on her before the snow hit. I love the handling, how nimble it is and how fun it is to drive. It is my first Suzuki. Though I am 46 I only started riding 5 years ago. A family member was killed on a motorcycle when I was 10 and the whole family sold their bikes. Before I got a chance to ride they were taboo in the family.
    When I reached 40 I figured I was old enough to do what the heck I want so I took the safety course offered through the State Of Il. What started out as a way to save gas on the way to work has turned into a passion. This is my third bike and the only one I own currently. I live on a farm in Winnebago and commute to Freeport Il which is about 30 miles one way. I can either take a 4 lane state highway or a twisty 2 lane road. Both are surrounded by cornfields. Other than deer I love riding in the country. Thanks for this forum. I got lots of help and met some nice people in the CX500 Forum. I this one seems just as good. Thanks again,

Lee

Honda Nighthawk 250
    Honda CX500
    Suzuki GS450

Welcome

I too love my 4 1/2 as well. I have found it to be an endearing bike.

I continually meet people who have been attacked by deer around my parts so please be careful.

Comment

Welcome Aboard!!!
      Another twin to join!!! Awesome! I understand about the bike taboo. My uncle nearly died in an MC accident ridding a brand new (then) 86 GSX-R1100. Spooked the whole family and as I grew up was told MC's were stupid and dangerous... I got into about 9 years ago when I was 22 and staterd out on a GS750L. I ride about 20K miles a year now but still keep to my roots and have my GR650 to remind me of the good ole' days of first ridding on a classic Zuk.