GS850L from NW Ohio

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS850L from NW Ohio

after my previous post I determined I should start a new post! after looking more into the bike the inside of the tank really rusty I saw a post previous for the gas tank I will hopefully fix! my first step is removing carbs. and since I have little mechanical knowledge with motorcycles, I will do my best at describing the problem I'm running into! The carb valve on the left side is stuck! hopefully I will get the carbs out tonight!
    1430709640229-1407145282.jpg

So I thought one of the valves were stuck as I could not open up my throttle...it appeared the 1st two carbs were trying to open but the other two wouldn't move....carbs off...as I manually pressed the arms starting left to right, the 1st opened up the first two valves pretty decent...then the middle arm that was attached to the throttle cable was pretty hard to move...the 3rd arm was practically immovable...I took a set of pliers and manually moved it...bout 1/16th of an inch...instead of the valves moving back, they appear to be closing toward me!! What the heck?!?! I don't know if it it's the bar that is attached to all the carbs is bound up, but it doesn't make any sense! Help!!!1430716643841-2072638225.jpg

Comment

Haha...I see what I am doing...so the real problem, besides my lack of knowledge, is the valve arm(?) is locked up....how do I correct this???1430717366260723482177.jpg

Comment

Strip and dip them. After that is done, a drop or 2 of oil on the butterfly shafts and work them back and forth.

How far west are you in Ohio? I may be able to offer some assistance.

Comment

Hi,

Welcome. Look for the carb cleaning guides here and on my little website. There are some other interesting bits you might find useful in the links below. Welcome.