Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New happy GS850G owner

Hello everyone,

I'm new here, and I haven't really had time yet to read all the interesting things here, but I will.

A little about myself : I'm 33 years old, live in Vancouver, BC, Canada, but originally came from France. I've been riding for 14 years, many kinds of bike, first in Europe, then in North America.

2 years ago, i discovered myself a passion for vintage bikes, and bought a 1981 Honda CX500D, and drove it from Toronto to Vancouver. It was a beautiful ride, and I really loved this bike. Unfortunately, she met a violent end last April when a car cut 3 lanes without looking right in front of me, leaving me with a damaged wrist and a broken bike.

A few months later, my wrist mostly healed, and desperate for a bike, I decided to buy myself a 2007 BMW F650GS, which I am still riding today. It is not a bad bike, but too fancy and modern for my taste. So as the riding season ended, I started looking for good deals on older bikes. There were several models I was interested in, mostly twins, as it has always been the kind of bike I feel best.
    I didn't care much for thumpers, and the 4 cylinders I tried had always left me with a bad impression, either because they were too aggressive, or even downright unreliable and disappointing, as the two CB550s I tried were.

So, Yamaha XS650, Suzuki T500 and the like were on top of my list. I didn't want another CX500, not because I didn't like the bike, but it would just have been heartbreaking. Still, I was always open to options...