Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How low can I go

Ok,
    This is my first year of riding. My commute to work is nearly all back roads and is about 20 miles. It is an enjoyable ride, so I take my bike to work whenever I can. By trial and error, I am discovering how to stay warm in colder weather. I think I may have reached my breaking point today. It was 30 this morning (About 1 below zero for you Europeans and Canadians on here). Since I don't have a windshield on my bike, this was probably as low as I will be able to tolerate (i.e. the pleasure factor of riding the bike did not outweigh the discomfort of being frggin' cold). I am just curious, what is the coldest anyone on here has ever ridden?

I cut the ride off after about 30 minutes because my fingers were getting beyond cold to numb.
    sigpic2002 KLR650 Ugly but fun!
    2001 KLR650 too pretty to get dirty

Life is a balancing act, enjoy every day, "later" will come sooner than you think. Denying yourself joy now betting you will have health and money to enjoy life later is a bad bet.

Where I've been Riding

Comment

My personal record was two years ago at 18 deg F. I've since added more things to keep warm with, really good heated grips, now I have a Widder heated vest, (oh, so nice!!!) and fairing lowers. Oh yeah, I've got a Windjammer fairing and windshield, an old sheepskin leather jacket on my saddle that retains heat, I haven't felt uncomfortable yet this year after getting the vest, just bought new winter gloves on sale at Motorcycle Superstore (PolarTex on sale and silk liners), I'm getting a new Teknics Stinger Textile jacket to wear next week when it arrives (got it on sale too). I wear a balaclava under my full face helmet, Carhart socks, nice and comfy. If the roads stay dry and I can get out of my driveway (it and the road in front of my house are iced when nothing else is), I'll continue to ride.

Comment