Post GS750 > 844 Build Plug Fowling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Post GS750 > 844 Build Plug Fowling

Hey folks, been a while since I've posted and I've got some background info for an issue I'm currently having so bear with me.

Back in 2022 I moved away for a year with my job. Right when I left my GS750 started running poorly, with smoke in the exhaust and poor, lurchy acceleration. When I pulled the plugs, the #3 was fowled. Replaced it, fowled again. I've gone through the bike and kept up the maintenance. I noticed there was some oil dripping out of one of the downpipe connectors and eventually came to the conclusion that the valve stem seal was failing on that cylinder.

Fast forward to earlier this year. I decided to rebuild the top end with a Wiseco 844 (69mm bore) kit. I got the cylinder bored out and the head bead blasted professionally, and also had them do a leak test on my cylinder head after replacing the valve stem seals (OEM Suzuki) and re-lapping in the valves. All 8 valves were sealing perfectly.

So I've just finished putting everything back together and the bike starts right up. I went through Wiseco's break in instructions. After finally riding it, I noticed that I'm still getting some surging at acceleration and the exhaust sounds blotchy. I pull the plugs again and once again the #3 plug is fowled. A couple days later, I replace it, start the bike again and notice that the #3 pipe isn't getting hot.

At this point I think there are three potential issues:

1. Something going on with that carb.
    2. Poor spark
    3. Valve stem seal is leaking still/again
    4. Something else.