Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Checking for life in an engine

Hello

I purchased a 1983 GS650 for cheap. The bike is in pieces and needs a lot of work. It has been sitting for a long time with muffler holes wide open and carb holes mostly covered with masking tape. I went through 15 pages of the engine discussion looking for guides and more information.

What would the first steps in checking if the engine is working or what conditioning should I do before I plug in the electrical? I have never done this before so links, documentation, tutorials or walk throughs would be appreciated. Thanks

Well, congratulations! First determine if you have all the required components. Was it in covered storage, sitting in a nice dry basement? You do understand that it was "in pieces " for a reason, right? If you can, show us some pics, so we can bless it!
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

I have minimal history on the bike. I bought off a person who bought it in a lot sale. I do know it was last titled in Texas. The last owner did have it in a garage, but before he bought it no idea. Pics:

Comment

Start with posting a location.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

First thing I would do it to pull the plugs and drop some oil down into the cylinders. I would then very slowly try and rotate the engine by hand. If that goes well, I would then check to see if I could get the transmission to shift through all the gears, remembering that you may need to rotate the rear wheel a bit to help things along.