clutch engagement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

clutch engagement

hello everyone, i'm new to motorcycles. been riding about 4 months. i have a 79 gs750. in the morning i can start it and take off, but the clutch doesn't engage until the lever is almost fully released. if i've been riding for a while and come to a stop light sometimes it will want to keep going even though the lever is pulled in all the way or the clutch will begin to engage as soon as i start to release the lever. any ideas? or is this just a qwerk of these bikes? my bosses harley doesn't do this. thanks!

Hey, Shinzon1, Definitely not a quirk, only Harley's have those .....Does the clutch lever feel smooth and consistent ?? No binding or funny feel ??....The primary adjustment for these models lies just in front of the front sprocket. You should get yourself a Clymer manual for your bike if your going to fix things yourself. Has the bike been siting up for a while. The clutch plates tend to get sticky if it sits. I think I hear the welcome wagon coming................listen...........Billy

Comment

Originally posted by shinzon1 View Post
      hello everyone, i'm new to motorcycles. been riding about 4 months. i have a 79 gs750. in the morning i can start it and take off, but the clutch doesn't engage until the lever is almost fully released. if i've been riding for a while and come to a stop light sometimes it will want to keep going even though the lever is pulled in all the way or the clutch will begin to engage as soon as i start to release the lever. any ideas? or is this just a qwerk of these bikes? my bosses harley doesn't do this. thanks!
      I hope you haven't been putting up with this for 4 months! should be easy fix. As stated, get or borrow a manual.
      1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment