1979 Suzuki GS750L Stuck Gear HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1979 Suzuki GS750L Stuck Gear HELP!

I was working on a 10-year-barned 1979 Suzuki GS750L and got the electric working on the thing and messed around with the gears to make sure the display was working right and then i turned off the battery charger and unscrewed the plugs to look in the cylinders to make sure they werent stuck. Somewhere in the confusion, I forgot to pop the gear back to nuetral. I slowely pushed down the kick start and watched the pistons come up. They looked great! Then... they got stuck.. this is when i realized the error of my ways. I am not experienced with this kind of Stuck gear problem and wanted to get some opinions before i fiddled with it and broke something. How do i get the gear unstuck?!

Originally posted by craywm View Post
    I was working on a 10-year-barned 1979 Suzuki GS750L and got the electric working on the thing and messed around with the gears to make sure the display was working right and then i turned off the battery charger and unscrewed the plugs to look in the cylinders to make sure they werent stuck. Somewhere in the confusion, I forgot to pop the gear back to nuetral. I slowely pushed down the kick start and watched the pistons come up. They looked great! Then... they got stuck.. this is when i realized the error of my ways. I am not experienced with this kind of Stuck gear problem and wanted to get some opinions before i fiddled with it and broke something. How do i get the gear unstuck?!
    You mean the kick starter lever is stuck? If you saw the pistons move, at least they weren't "stuck". Bad karma, stop worrying about digital gear display till you know the motor is happy! Try rotating crank backwards SLIGHTY, this might free the kickstarter.
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment