the pains of nooberty

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

the pains of nooberty

I just bought a very cheap 1980 gs850g off craigslist that doesn't run. It was kind of impulsive. It has low compression in two cylinders, but otherwise the guy selling it thought everything else seemed to be in good condition and he had put new brakes in. I was inclined to trust him - he ran a non-profit bike shop that fixed up donated bikes and sold them to raise money for missionary work and he trusted me enough to show me his garage full of nice bikes which also proved that he really did need to sell it to make room. He even invited me to his church and gave me a business card.

I have very little mechanical experience, but I'm usually pretty competent and resourceful when I get into something technical. I don't really have anyone to help guide me through these processes, just books, a computer and local bike shops. My thinking was that even if I didn't get the bike running, I would learn a lot and it was only $300 lost.

My first and most important question is: am I an idiot? Did I get over my head by parking this big bike in my garage that will eventually drive me insane and end up costing me more than I'll ever get for it? Should I just sell it now and find an easier project to start on? like a freaking tune up? Or is this kind of ambition a positive first step towards motorcycle literacy?

More about the bike:
    The PO hadn't bothered to test why the compression was low once he had decided to get rid of it. He explained how to do it to me, but I should have taken notes or something, because I can't remember the name of the device he said I needed.
    What is this device called and other potentially expensive tools might I be needing if I really got into this project?

I think those are the best questions I can pull from my wide sea of uncertainty. Thanks.

Originally posted by crapidriver View Post