Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1981 GS 850GL loses power and dies in 5th

Hi GSer's,
    I had a 1980 GS 450 for a couple of years and it never game me problems like this 850. I have been riding the 850 around town for 3 months now and it never had this issue in the lower 4 gears. Twice now I have got it out on the open road up into 5th and 10 miles later the engine loses power, I down shift to try to maintain rpm's but it dies anyway. The first time no electrics came on when I turned the key so I thought it was an electrical issue. My friend moved the fuses around and it fired back up. Towed it home and saw that all the old glass fuses were 20's and 30's instead of 10's and a 15. The 15 mainline was super heating (melted the plastic a bit) using a 30 so my friend (the engineer) cut the whole thing out and swapped in modern weather proof fuses. I took it back out across town, through traffic, never got higher than 4th and it seemed fine. Fuses didn't pop and the lines didn't heat up like before either. Got back on I-5 the other day and same deal, got out of Portland but just shy of Wilsonville it died in 5th. Now I have no idea why. Does that sound like a carb issue, fuel line issue, or engine? Thanks for the help.

Sounds like it's starving for fuel. Check the vent on the fuel cap for starters - if that's not it, check the petcock and the carbs. Fuel filter?
    -1980 GS1100 LT
    -1975 Honda cb750K
    -1972 Honda cl175
    - Currently presiding over a 1970 T500

Comment

I would say the electrical problem you had is not related to the engine dieing at highway speed. THat sounds more like fuel flow not keeping up and the carbs starving of fuel.

If happens again (and seems like you can make it happen), do you have to wait a while then it will restart? Next time, right away, open gas cap, and then see if will start right away. If so then can suspect the gas cap vent problem.

Had 850G for 14 years. Now have GK since 2005.