Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Valve Clearance Equipment List

Hi folks

Never done a valve adjustment before. Looking forward to giving it a go. So please have patience with my questions. I'm a newbie to this.

I'm trying to work out what equipment I need before I begin. From the guides on BassCliff's site it looks like it may be as follows. Please let me know if I'm missing something.

wrenches for general disassembly and for turning the engine
    torque wrench
    'some' valve shims
    Shim Tool or zip ties
    valve cover and breather gaskets (if replacement is needed)
    spark plug tool
    set of feeler guages
    heavy tweezers or long nose pliers
    some oil for coating the shims
    Calipers for measuring shim sizes
    A set of cam end plugs - aka half moons (if replacement is needed)

Is that it?

Also:
    Regarding the shims. What shims should I buy? Do they come in a set? Is it something I can't know until I actually measure the clearances?
    So is this job a 2 stage process? Check the clearances; then replace the shims later once the right ones have been purchased?

Is there some kind of set I could buy that will give me a good chance of getting the job done first time?

Lastly:
    If I make a mistake and leave the clearance to large or too small, is my motor at risk? ie being a newbie I am worried about f***ing my bike up.

many thanks as always.
    Assaf

Originally posted by Assaf View Post
    Regarding the shims. What shims should I buy? Do they come in a set? Is it something I can't know until I actually measure the clearances?
    You will not know what you need until you measure your clearances and inspect your shims to see what you actually have in there.

You already have a copy of my spreadsheet, that will help you determine what shims you need.

So is this job a 2 stage process? Check the clearances; then replace the shims later once the right ones have been purchased?