What size rear sprocket for racing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What size rear sprocket for racing?

To make sure I have enough clearance at the pivot point on my 80 gs1100 with a Bandit swingarm, I run an 18 tooth countershaft sprocket with a 530 chain. I wanted lower rpm's on the highway so I'm using a 42 tooth rear, works great. However, I drag raced last week & found I was just shifting into 4th about 200 feet before the lights, so obviously I need to go to a larger rear. Any idea what size I would need to at least get me into 5th gear? Maybe 48 or 50?
    80 gs1100 16-v ported & polished, 1 mm oversize intake valves, 1150 carbs w/Dynojet stage 3, plus Bandit/gsxr upgrades

I have no experience with changing sprockets for racing, so will have to give it a mathematical approach until a racer chimes in.

Look up the transmission ratios for third and fifth gears and apply that difference to your current sprocket ratio. Maybe subtract one tooth from the result.

As I understand it, you will want to be approaching redline (or peak power) as you cross the finish line, that should get you close.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment