Oil Leak ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Oil Leak ?

Newbie Here! Still dont have my bike running for the first time but trying to tackle one issue at a time. I have oil leaking down my kickstand. As far as I can tell it is coming from around the gear foot pedal. I looked underneath that plate that shows the gear selections and there is a large bolt that is soaked. This could be my problem. Is there a gasket under that plate I will have to buy if I unscrew it? Also are there any well known problem areas to check for leaks on that side of the motor in that general location? Thanks Ahead!

Probably either the oil seal around the shifter shaft, or the countershaft oil seal, perhaps oil blowing around from somewhere else, like an oil drain plug or stator cover. It could also be left over oil from overzealous chain oiling. The countershaft and shift shaft seals are common leaks, and are easy to fix. There's no gasket with the sprocket cover, if that's what you mean by that plate. You will probably need an impact driver. (hand held type that you tap with a hammer)
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...tatesMap-1.jpg

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Starter o-ring if leaking will also follow the drain hole down thru and show in the same place.

Comment

Originally posted by tkent02 View Post
        Probably either the oil seal around the shifter shaft, or the countershaft oil seal, perhaps oil blowing around from somewhere else, like an oil drain plug or stator cover. It could also be left over oil from overzealous chain oiling. The countershaft and shift shaft seals are common leaks, and are easy to fix. There's no gasket with the sprocket cover, if that's what you mean by that plate. You will probably need an impact driver. (hand held type that you tap with a hammer)
        its a shafty, GS1000GL
        1978 GS1085.

Just remember, an opinion without 3.14 is just an onion!

Comment