Rear chain Guide Replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rear chain Guide Replacement

I'm working on a 1981 GS750 EX. I have the head and cylinders off. The rear cam chain guide has chunks out of it and needs to be replaced. From the look of the repair manuals and what I've seen in the forums I have to split the cases to replace it. Anybody know if there is any other way to change the rear cam chain guide.

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. GlennK,

I have no first hand experience with replacing the cam chain guide but I'm sure others will be along shortly who have. In the meantime you can probably find the procedure in the manual. You will find that and a lot more in the links below. It's the "mega-welcome".

If you are here you probably have a 30 year old motorcycle that needs about 20 years worth of maintenance. You'll find all kinds of helpful tips, procedures, manuals, diagrams, "how-to" guides, etc, in the links below. Let's get started.

Let me dump a TON of information on you and share some GS lovin'.

I just stopped by to welcome you to the forum in my own, special way.

If there's anything you'd like to know about the Suzuki GS model bikes, and most others actually, you've come to the right place. There's a lot of knowledge and experience here in the community. Come on in and let me say "HOoooowwwDY!"....

Here is your very own magical, mystical, mythical, mind-expanding "mega-welcome". Please take notice of the "Top 10 Common Issues", "Top 15 Tips For GS Happiness", the Carb Cleanup Series, and the Stator Papers. All of these tasks must be addressed in order to have a safe, reliable machine. This is what NOT to do: Top 10 Newbie Mistakes. Now let me roll out the welcome mat for you...