Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with engine differences Between 81 1100E & 1100EFE

Hey Guys
    This is my first time up, so i hope you can help.
    I have a 81 GSX1100E that i have been building as a period 5 vintage superbike. I do have some nice parts on it, but i am looking at buying a spare motor for it so i can build up a spare monster engine for it without disturbing my current one till i'm ready.
    I have come across a complete EFE engine with a couple of spare heads and another disassembled engine for a decent price.
    My question is, i have to use a pre 83 bottom end to stay within the period 5 reg's, so will the EFE barrels and/or top end fit on the 81 cases?
    While i have your attention can you also tell me if there is any differences between the mounting points on the bottom end on the 2 engines?
    It's a pretty sweet build actually, I mightn't beat those super expensive XR69 Replicas that are out there but i'm going to have a whole lot of fun trying.
    cheers.

Originally posted by GSXRacer View Post
    Hey Guys
    This is my first time up, so i hope you can help.
    I have a 81 GSX1100E that i have been building as a period 5 vintage superbike. I do have some nice parts on it, but i am looking at buying a spare motor for it so i can build up a spare monster engine for it without disturbing my current one till i'm ready.
    I have come across a complete EFE engine with a couple of spare heads and another disassembled engine for a decent price.
    My question is, i have to use a pre 83 bottom end to stay within the period 5 reg's, so will the EFE barrels and/or top end fit on the 81 cases?
    While i have your attention can you also tell me if there is any differences between the mounting points on the bottom end on the 2 engines?
    It's a pretty sweet build actually, I mightn't beat those super expensive XR69 Replicas that are out there but i'm going to have a whole lot of fun trying.
    cheers.