Please help ASAP guys

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please help ASAP guys

Hey guys this is my first post I've had many GS bikes and I'm an ex suzuki tech and I'm completely stumped.ill make this as short as possible! I have a 1982 gs550l that I cut the mufflers off of and installed baffles I also removed factory airbox and put on homemade foam pods. I went from a 40 to a 44 pilot jet and from a 92.5 to a 127.5 main. Started bike ran and idled great all the way through the power band, got on it and drove it about a mile all the sudden it started falling on it's face at 4k rpm and bogging down running on 3 cylinders (no smoke no backfiring) I limped home to find all the plugs black and fouled. I assumed i over jetted it, I jumped down to a 115 main and changed plugs to one degree hotter, same problem. I then went back to stock mains and it's still fouling plugs and still falling on it's face now at 5k rpm, just no power at all above that point and bogging and again running only on cylinders 123. Yet if the bike Is idling it will run great and run all the way to redline on all 4 cylinders with no problems AT ALL. I'm stumped why is my bike falling on it's face at 4k and why does it keep fouling plugs?! All cylinders are getting spark, bike has good compression. Is it possible the stock mains are too rich?!

Very common pod problem- head to this link to first post. stock mikuni needle won't like the bigger jet

Edit; maybe move this query to carb forum
    Last edited by tom203; 03-11-2014, 05:12 PM.
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

Why on earth did you increase the pilot jet size?

Comment

Originally posted by Corvetteman115 View Post
        I'm stumped why is my bike falling on it's face at 4k and why does it keep fouling plugs?! All cylinders are getting spark, bike has good compression. Is it possible the stock mains are too rich?