X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

cylinder head advice

I'm a cylinder head noob.

There... I said it.

I do Automotive repair for a living, so I'm no stranger to the inside of an engine. This is just my first time 'cracking' an aircooled engine.

I've developed an oil leak coming from the left (clutch side) front of the engine. I went through and built a (hopefully) comprehensive list of head gasket related parts to order for the job.

What im looking for, is a bunch of "hey stupid" and "dont forget" type stuff that someone who's done this before can point out. I'll be checking valve adjustment so no need to suggest it. Base gasket and related o-rings are also on the list.

Everybody ante up their 2 cents!

hey stupid...the clutch is on the right side.
    man that felt good...i hope you enjoyed it just as much as i did

Comment

Well, I suppose it depends on which direction you face. To me, the clutch lever on handlebar is on left side, meaning the actual clutch itself is on right side-so just where is this leak? And how many miles on this critter?
      1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

Clutch lever.

Spent 10 yrs in storage until '09

Comment

So the leak is on left side towards front,as in stator cover area, as opposed to secondary drive area?? If so, has bike ever fallen over on that side?
          1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

The leak is up higher at the valve cover/ head gasket level.

I'm wondering if I should get any timing chain related parts or are those parts really robust.

I've got a $400 budget including shipping.

I just want to open it the one time.

And yes two driveway "oopses" on that side.

TIA
            Last edited by four_shot; 01-22-2015, 07:48 PM.

Comment

Just make sure you buy OEM head and base gaskets. Be VERY cautious of cheap off brand gaskets in those areas.