GS750E hard starting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS750E hard starting

First of all, I'm new to this whole forum thing. So please be patient if possible. So my issue is this, I bought this 82 750 for $400 on Craigslist. In it he said it was cold blooded. I figure I can handle that right? Well, being new to bikes it was a little more complicated than I thought. With a whole heck of a lot of starting fluid and some extra juice it'll start after 10-15 minutes of cranking. I pulled apart all the carbs, cleaned them thoroughly and put them back on. No difference. I just pulled apart the valve cover and discovered nearly all the valve shim clearances were too small for my .04mm feeler gauge to get into. I've been reading how important that is so I'm sure it hasn't been done in quite some time. It also has a bit of a "dead spot" about half way up the range. I've searched and can't find exactly what I want to know. My question is what other General maintenance should have been done that the previous owner may have forgotten such as the Valve shims? I apologize for the long-windedness! Any help is very appreciated
    -Robin

If the valve clearances have closed up it will run poorly and be difficult to start (and if they have been like that for a period of time then it may have burnt valves). So, get them into spec first.

A new set of spark plugs will probably help a lot as well.
    Current:
    Z1300A5 Locomotive (swapped my Intruder for it), GS450 Cafe Project (might never finish it....), XT500 Commuter (I know - it's a Yamaha )

Past:
    VL1500 Intruder (swapped for Z1300), ZX9R Streetfighter (lets face it - too fast....), 1984 GSX750EF, 1984 GSX1100EF (AKA GS1150)
    And a bunch of other crap Yamahas....

Comment