Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Undercut gears only done on dogs and not slots?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Undercut gears only done on dogs and not slots?

My 1982 GS1100E is hard to get into 2nd gear sometimes. I have missed that gear several times at the drag strip. It has even popped out of 2nd at about 9,000 rpm after being fully engaged. Well, I just split the cases today as I have since melted 2 pistons and I am going to go through this one top to bottom. I inspected the shift forks and they are not bent and the pads are still within Suzuki specs. The shift drum looks good to me. I then inspected the gears and found the dogs on all gears have been undercut (some dogs are cut on both sides, some only on one side). But, none of the slots in any of the gears are undercut. They are just flat. I am no tranny expert but aren't both the dogs and slots supposed to be cut at the same angle so they will pull together? Also, my 2nd gear has some wear on the edges of the slots from missed shifts but they are just small nicks.

Questions: Do I need to send my gears off to have them undercut on the slots?
    Who do yall recommend to do the work? APE says they do tranny work anybody used them?
    What else should I inspect while I am in here? Thanks a bunch!

Originally posted by Paul.S View Post