Leading

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Leading

Ok, the first statement I would like to make is that I'm no expert. Now that that's out of the way, on with the show.

My tank had a few minor dents. They weren't that deep (about 1mm) so I decided to fill them rather than pull them out. Now, I'm not a big fan of body putty, so I decided to try filling them with lead (in this case silver solder - more on that later).

After a miserable time with the first dent using a solder gun, on the second dent I used a propane torch. I have to warn you that what you are about to see below is not pretty!

The first pic shows the virgin dent, waiting to be filled. OK, OK, I won't say that again.

Store photos and docs online. Access them from any PC, Mac or phone. Create and work together on Word, Excel or PowerPoint documents.

I then roughed up the surface and made an outline to help in determining exactly where the filler should go.

Store photos and docs online. Access them from any PC, Mac or phone. Create and work together on Word, Excel or PowerPoint documents.

Next apply the flux and heat. Then apply the 'lead'. The results that I got at this point are simply horrible. I didn't use and paddles to spread the lead (like real body mechanics). I was lazy (and cheap) and only had a few areas to do, so I just globbed it on.

The final step is to file it down. The end result is below.

Now that the dog an pony show is over, let me give some details.

Due to my cheapness I used silver solder and flux that plumbers use for copper pipes. Again, I didn't try to spread the filler, I just gobbed it on and applied heat until it flowed. If it didn't adhere properly in spots, I brushed some more fux in that area while still hot, then added more heat and filler. It seemed to work for what I needed.