Fix or Replace

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fix or Replace

Well hello guys/gals, newbie here and just got a 78 GS1000e for next to nothing. Right now the gas tank is the only real weak spot and I haven't been able to get it out to get it to run, but I know it was running last year. Previous owner burned up the battery with a car charger and pushed it in the back and it hasn't been run since. I was wondering would you try and fix this tank or just replace it. All my pics are too big to download so gonna have to explain it. Bottom left edge rusted about 5 inches worth which had to be fixed and shows signs of leaking.

Last edited by Guest; 03-11-2008, 03:21 AM.

Whats wrong with the tank exactly? Secondly, it might be a challenge to find that tank in any good shape. Thirdly, PICS PICS PICS!!! Fourthly, WELCOME to the GSR

Comment

Are you good at welding? If so then patch it up. If not then consider getting one off of ebay. Although might be tricky finding your tank as people are in love with the 'E's and shun the poor 'L's

Comment

Better Pic

Hope this pic is better It shows how extensive the damage is on my existing tank. Poor guy tried to fix it with jbweld. Looks like the whole tank is going to have to be redone. I have a welder that has some skills, and I have done some tank work on other projects. So I may be able to fix this one. And you say that finding a 78 tank is hard, What other tanks will work with this. I may be able to find something local.

Comment

Another Pic

I'm gonna get this right yet.

Comment

hi, a tank from a gs750 will also fit except that you have to beat the underside in a little. now i've never actually done this but a guy that knows alot about gs's told me that and i have a tank that it was done to and it does fit a 1000. so you would have to get one in good shape that could handle being dented in a bit. i can post a picture later if anyone is interested.