Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to Recover the Seat???

Hi everyone.

I just got a "new" seat in the mail today, and it needs to be recovered. That' fine, I knew it had to be. It is replacing my old "king-queen" style seat that I really didn't like.

My question is...how the heck do you recover one of these things?? I've done several other seats before, but they always had plastic pans so you just stapled the vinyl/leather into the pan with a nice stapler. I've never done the metal one before. Is it best to just use rivets?? Or should I try to use the clamp pieces that are on the seat now?? They're kinda rusty, so I don't know if I should trust them or not.

Thanks!
    Jeff

You can often reuse those original 'teeth'. If they snap you have the option of using pop rivets or contact glue.

It's tricky to make a real smart job - the key points are:

1. Make sure the new vinyl is warm - it'll stretch when you put it on and shrink back a bit, giving you a better chance of getting it nice and taut.

2.Pull the cover over the front part of the seat and then pull like mad to stretch it to the back. Line it up for central and then pull it over the teeth.

3. Working from the front to the back work the sides on together i.e. stretch it evenly on each side and pull it on the teeth two at a time (one on each side).

If you've got a bit of rust on your pan clean it off and give it a coat of paint first. Plus make sure that you have no sharp edges on the seat - if you have file them off and maybe cover with a small bit of carpte tape to remove the risk of slicing through your new cover.
    79 GS1000S
    79 GS1000S (another one)
    80 GSX750
    80 GS550
    80 CB650 cafe racer
    75 PC50 - the one with OHV and pedals...
    75 TS100 - being ridden (suicidally) by my father

Comment

Originally posted by hampshirehog View Post
      You can often reuse those original 'teeth'. If they snap you have the option of using pop rivets or contact glue.