Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

my 1 hour cafe racer, nothing fancy......

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

my 1 hour cafe racer, nothing fancy......

Been a while since i've been back here gents, got a few more gs750's i picked up over the winter cheap to make bobbers and cafe's out of for spring flip.
    Decided while i had the sawsaw out i'd snap a few photos and show how easy it is to update and style older bikes. I have no grand delusions obviously, this is just a cheap 1 hour update for a quick flip, figured some of you on a budget looking to purchase a bike but not happy with the styles you were finding may find it interesting. Just keep in mind, a bike is a bike, it's got a frame, engine, and wheels, everything else is cosmetic. throw a different tank on, a different seat, change the bars, and usually for under 150 bucks you can make something that perhaps may be more your style.
    I'm no mechanic, i know the basics, anything else i learn on the net, other then perhaps a complete rebuild, most things are pretty simple like clutches and stators even carbs. You can always find a beater sittin on the side of someones garage that hasnt ran in years for a couple hundred bucks, updating it is easy.
    I picked this bike up off CL for 300 bucks last weekend, had carb problems and a faulty petcock. spent maybe an hour 1/2 doing both and now she runs. Had a junky cafe seat i grabbed off ebay for 60 bucks, so i figured it would make for a quick cafe.
    I didnt think of posting or grabbing the camera till i already swapped out the bars, sorry about that, but you get the point. Took 15 minutes to swap bars, bars are about 20 bucks on ebay, maybe 25-40 at your local shop.