media blast or chemical stripper?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

media blast or chemical stripper?

My dragbike body work has many layers of paint. I need to know which will be better / cheaper? it is some hard stuff on the fiberglass.

I really am not experienced on body work.
    SUZUKI , There is no substitute

I am not experienced on body work, either, but I have seen some really botched jobs.

If you are doing this yourself, you just have to ask if you are comfortable with your equipment. Blasting with media, it appears to be a really fine line between that last layer of paint and the gel coat. You are also spraying in a rather small area that you have to keep moving to keep it even. It's sort of like trying to color in a large box with a pencil.

Chemical strippers would also have to be chosen carefully. You want to remove the paint, but not the plastic.
    I am sure this stuff exists, but I have no suggestions other than BE CAREFUL.

You might actually have the best results with regular sanding. Easier to control how hard you are pushing and how fast the paint is coming off.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

Originally posted by trippivot View Post
      My dragbike body work has many layers of paint. I need to know which will be better / cheaper? it is some hard stuff on the fiberglass.

I really am not experienced on body work.