Fixing a Seat Pan That is Garbage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fixing a Seat Pan That is Garbage

I have been working up the courage to get back to work on my seat pan so that I can finally mount my brand new cover (PitReplica) on it.
    Its way out of my league, but I want to do it. Bear in mind that I have no metal working experience or equipment nor do I have access to a welder. All I have for this is an angle grinder, a vice, a hammer and an old air conditioner housing.

Here you see the issue, the edge of the pan is completely corroded and as a result the edge of the seat would look wavy if I put the cover on now.

My solution was to cut out a piece of the AC housing and bang the *&$# out of it until if was the correct shape to take the place of the corroded edge. This is what I came up with. I'm more then a little proud.

In this one you can see that I ground the edges sharp so that it would lie flush with the original material.

The fitment...

(Not quite long enough, I'll bridge that gap with edging)

(Pay no attention to the potty)

All thats left is to mix up a batch of epoxy or JBWeld and slather it on, then POP rivet it down.

Then there are a few other holes that I should really patch up.

I think it looks great. Although a welder would be ideal I think rivits will work fine.
    Use auto car door edging.

I'm interested in knowing how you're gonna do the little prongs that poke into the cover to hold it in place.
    sigpic

82 GS850
    78 GS1000
    04 HD Fatboy

...............................____
    .................________-|___\____
    ..;.;;.:;:;.,;.|__(O)___|____/_(O)|

Comment

Originally posted by Octain View Post
      I'm interested in knowing how you're gonna do the little prongs that poke into the cover to hold it in place.
      Ah, good question!

They're designed to fasten sun screens to wood.
      I'll pop rivet them to the edge. Got the idea from another member.

Comment

Nice work Adler.