GS750 into Sportster style - Possible?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS750 into Sportster style - Possible?

Hello all. This is my first post here and I'm completely new to motorcycles so please forgive my ignorance. I decided I wanted an inexpensive bike this spring and ended up with a 78 GS750E. It was in near perfect cosmetic condition when I got it.

I hate the giant seat and tail in the stock configuration and want to go with a look that's a little more custom. My first thought was to buy a generic bobtail fender and try to make it look like a sportster or something similar. After looking closely, I'm finding that the frame geometry doesn't work well with that look unless you drop the rear end WAY down. The only good looking bobber/cruiser GS bikes that I've seen are hard tails and I definitely don't want to get rid of the shocks. Now I'm leaning toward a brat style seat since I don't like the hump-back cafe look. The brats look ok, but the seats look extremely uncomfortable. I would really like to make or buy a seat/rear fender combo that looks good and provides a comfortable ride. I really like the bobtail sportster look, but I'm not sure if it can be accomplished with my bike. Overall, I'm trying to make a bike that will look good all blacked out and ride comfortably if I want to go 100-200 miles.

The point:

Has anybody out there achieved a good Sportster/Bobber/Cruiser look with their GS bike WITHOUT going to a hard tail? If so, what does it look like and how did you do it?

Thanks in advance.

Going to be pretty hard to make an inline 4 look like a V twin. Two totally different animals.
    1984 GS1100GK newest addition to the heard
    80 GS 1000gt- most favorite ride love this bike
    1978 GS1000E- Known as "RoadKill" , Finished :D
    83 gs750ed- first new purchase
    85 EX500- vintage track weapon
    1958Ducati 98 Tourismo