1980 GS450 Budget Paint Job

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1980 GS450 Budget Paint Job

Apologies, had some image hosting issues and had to delete my previous thread.

I thought I'd throw this back up in case anyone was interested in the project.

To Recap..... I purchased a 1980 Suzuki GS450ET last year for $700. It is my first motorcycle and was not in the best of shape. Broken piston, starter was shot, it looked like someone found it in a barn, hosed it off, and uploaded it directly to Craigslist. Being a novice I didn't really know what I was getting myself into, I just thought that it was a neat looking bike, and being a college student with only part time employment the price was attractive. Fast forward a year, all mechanical problems have been remedied, and I decided that I would try and update the aesthetics a bit with a small amount of extra cash I made selling some items on Ebay. I decided to take the bike apart, clean up everything I could, and with $30 worth of spray paint see if I couldn't make it look a little better. This was by no means a professional undertaking, just a kid, with an old bike, and some incessant insomnia.

These are the original Craigslist photos:

Here it is after I rode it home and cleaned it up a tiny bit. (Yep it still ran with a busted piston, I thought it just needed the carburetor cleaned...)

The thing was a mess, starter barely worked, someone had installed a scooter battery for some reason, and due to budget issues it spent most of the next year in pieces rather than on the road.

Year later, mechanical issues all addressed, decided to take it apart one more time in an attempt to clean it up a bit.

Before:

Primer Stage:

(For the plastic parts all I did was wipe them down with a moist rag, then shot them with white spray can primer. For the tank I did some light sanding and prep work.)

Comment

"7770 Almond" (Tried to rotate this pic, gave up, so it's sideways.)

Paint Stage:

Comment

Reassembly: