Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Paint airbox and battery box or leave them rusting OEM?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Paint airbox and battery box or leave them rusting OEM?

My new-to-me 79 GS850 looks ok, but the airbox and battery box are out of the bike right now as I'm thoroughly going through it after the PO had it stored and not running for years.

While I wait for parts (valve shims, carb o-rings, gaskets, throttle cables, etc), I was thinking about painting the airbox before I reseal it and the battery box as it has a lot of surface rust on it. I'm an average painter and trust myself on doing an 8+ out of 10 job on something like this with my HVLP gun and some solid prep.

Is this a good plan, or is the bike worth more unaltered? If paint, what product and color is closest to factory original? A single stage satin black enamel is what I'm thinking. Not trying to overthink this; just want to honor the bike.
    1979 Suzuki GS850G The Michio Zombie: The Dead is rising and hungry for brains
    1980 Suzuki GS850GT, Collecting these things is a funny new bad habit

Clean it and paint it. Anything is better than rust. Your 850 will love you for it.👍
    My Motorcycles:
    22 Kawasaki Z900 RS (Candy Tone Blue)
    22 BMW K1600GT (Probably been to a town near you)
    82 1100e Drag Bike (needs race engine)
    81 1100e Street Bike (with race engine)
    79 1000e (all original)
    82 850g (all original)
    80 KZ 650F (needs restored)

Comment

anyrust you can get rid of is always a +++, paint to keep it from returning. You aren't talking of painting the plastic airbox, are you? That may not be the best idea. " "ArmorAll", "Son of a Gun", or "Back to Black" for the plastic.
      1983 GS1100E, 1983 CB1100F, 1991 GSX1100G, 1996 Kaw. ZL600 Eliminator, 1999 Bandit 1200S, 2005 Bandit 1200S, 2000 Kaw. ZRX 1100

Comment

Originally posted by rphillips View Post