Please help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please help

I can't get this 1980 Suzuki Gs750E running correctly. I'm a decently accomplished mechanic. I've never failed at a project like this before.

All the carb parts are oem mikuni, stock jet sizes, and 100% clean, I'm positive. Slides move smoothly with the butterflies, I bench tested with a shop vac. No vacuum leaks, compression good, spark good, Valves in spec and cams timed correctly, running it off a fuel bottle and the float bowls are full to the correct level. I'm using the stock Airbox with a K&N replacement filter that's very similar to the OEM part. I can start the bike on Choke and it'll idle around 3k. I can coax the throttle on Choke and get it to rev to the red line with awful throttle response.
    Off Choke, I backed the mixture screws way out (rich) and it'll start and run for a few seconds before dying. If you open the throttle, it kills it.

I've dumped about 25 hours into this problem and I'm at the end of my rope.

Originally posted by CrazyOtte View Post

All the carb parts are oem mikuni, stock jet sizes, and 100% clean, I'm positive.
    Let's start with the basics, how did you go about cleaning the carbs?
    1980 Yamaha XS1100G (Current bike)
    1982 GS450txz (former bike)
    LONG list of previous bikes not listed here.

These aren't my words, I just arrange them

Comment

How old is the gasoline?

Comment

Did you sync the carbs? How did you set the initial butterfly opening in the carbs, you can use the shank of a very small drill, then adjust from there. It sounds like fuel starvation, how did you set the carb floats. Make sure they aren't leaking, or sitting too low..

Comment

Originally posted by LAB3 View Post

Let's start with the basics, how did you go about cleaning the carbs?
          Total disassembly, ultrasonic cleaner for 1 hr at 50C. Solution is 75% Berryman Chem dip, 25% WD40.