Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting Trouble

Hi all,

New to bikes and im a pretty terrible mechanic, if there is a general starting issues thread I would be happy to read and work through that if someone can point me there.

Grabbed a gs750t off marketplace that ran well at the time and after bringing it home it worked well for a couple days till I tried troubleshooting some electrical problem but that was resolved (left blinker didn't work but was fixed after rewiring a crimped ground cable). After these electrical issues I had trouble starting, jumped it and had no issues after that. I noticed the oil was low and figured I should change it - everything went okay till I was putting the cover back and of course I broke a stud, ordered a new one and it arrived about a week later.

So, one week later, oil cover was put back on, filled w oil, battery connected to my car battery, bike tries to start but just can't seem to catch. I took a look at the spark plugs and it seems to be weak although I'm not a good judge. Added a new battery that I ordered when I was messing with the electricals earlier but same issue. I don't even know where to start, it has been stormy some crazy downpour the last couple days and I keep my bike outside under a tarp, could the added condensation/humidity have made my gas bad? Plan on spraying starter tomorrow to see if it will start but figured I would ask if there is a general or something to troubleshoot so I'll have something to follow in case it fails.

Thanks to all who read!!

Personally can't help you, but you've come to the right place. Welcome.

What year is your 750T?

Motorcycles don't belong out in the rain (see my avatar).
    1982 GS1100E V&H "SS" exhaust, APE pods, 1150 oil cooler, 140 speedo, 99.3 rear wheel HP, black engine, '83 red