80 gs 550

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

80 gs 550

new to the sight been looking for awhile now.
    i have a question, going to be picking up a 1980 gs 550 this weekend for 350 bucks runs drives good tires and all, good deal i would say.
    the only prob is the bike doesn't go over 55 i assume it just needs a good carb clean and rebuild.
    i just want to know could this be something that wouldn't be easily fixed like a cam prob or something.
    Im new to bikes but am going to school to work on cars so i know a little
    i'm all ears
    thanks

If it runs and rides, $350 sounds good to me too.

First, adjust the valves, THEN carb clean and synchronize.

Good luck!

Comment

Fix everything, if it still only goes 55 we can fix that too.
      I bought a 1000 that would only get up to 50 with a long down hill, turns out the 4-1 exhaust pipe had a huge ball of steel wool in the collector.
      Pulled out a pile of it the size of a watermelon, instant fast bike again.
      So yeah, we can fix it.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

cool thanks guys ill let you know when i get the bike and tear into it. and give you up date.
        thanks

Comment

Just from personal experience ( and a few of the guys can tell ya I made that mistake)...don't crack open the engine unless you find it absolutely necessary....check the carbs and intake. The exhaust bolts on these are notorious for breaking so be carefull if you break them loose to look at em. Post what you find in the carbs and intake. You will get all the right advice from these guys and gals in which direction to go. Other than that good luck.

Comment

Originally posted by tkent02 View Post
            Fix everything, if it still only goes 55 we can fix that too.
            I bought a 1000 that would only get up to 50 with a long down hill, turns out the 4-1 exhaust pipe had a huge ball of steel wool in the collector.