Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cold Start

Hello,
    I just introduced myself in the "intro" section just a few minutes ago. This is my first attempt at posting, so please be kind!

1982 Suzuki GS650g: Cold start problem. It seems like the gas is not making it to the cylinders. After I get it to start using starter fluid, it runs beautifully. Below is a list of work that was done to it in the past 2 years. I only ride about 1,000 miles a year due to physical difficulties. So I try to keep fresh gas w/stabil in it. Anyway, here is the list:

-Carbs rebuilt, soaked in Berrymans, blown through w/air, new O rings through Robert Barr, float set at 22mm, all new hoses in right places, Sync'd carbs.
    -New Airbox Boots & clamps & filter.
    -New petcock. (No inline filter)
    -New intake manifolds
    -New #3 exhaust valve (pitted, I imagine, due to PO not adjusting valves)
    -Valve lash @ 5mm.
    -New rings & light hone (cylinders & pistons all miked out well w/i specs)
    -Valve seats lightly cut
    -All Suzuki gaskets throughout
    -Exhaust in good shape
    -Electrix stator
    -Honda 5-wire rr
    -New sealed battery
    -coil relay mod.
    -New coil wires (coil ohms @ 3k.)

Any advice appreciated.
    Jerry

Hmm, sounds like you have everything pretty much covered.
    How long ago was this work done?
    sigpic

82 GS850
    78 GS1000
    04 HD Fatboy

...............................____
    .................________-|___\____
    ..;.;;.:;:;.,;.|__(O)___|____/_(O)|

Comment

Hi,

"Valve lash @ 5mm"; Does that mean that the valve clearances are set at .05mm? Tight valve clearances are the first suspect in hard starting engines. I run mine on the loose end of spec, even a little over.

Perhaps the idle mixture screws need to be turned out another half turn. Did you adjust these using the "highest idle" method?

Thank you for your indulgence,

BassCliff

Comment

Thanks for the info...