Need a bit of help with GS750

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need a bit of help with GS750

I have been having intermittent starting issues where if the bike is cold it just would not turnover, even with choke. However, if it sat in the sun it would start right up, no problem. I also used to have to just hammer on the starter and wind the throttle to get it to start

So I decided to take the carbs apart for a good cleaning. While I was at it I monkeyed around with the idle plate position, if it is not set to the right position could that be causing this problem? Now I have been unable to get the bike started at all. FYI I do have the air filters off thinking it might help. If I let it sit for awhile it tries to fire but then does nothing.

Any help would be appreciated, I am pretty new to carburetors.

Is it possible that the problem is my spark plugs. They are only 2 months old, but were fairly black and sooty, I am assuming b/c my bike is running way to rich, but 2 months?

Comment

Welcome aboard.

I'm a little confused by your description. It wouldn't start when cold but would if left in the sun to warm up? You also mention the idle plate position can you explain more? When "monkeying around" with the carbs did you refer to the carb cleaning tutorial on the main page? The tutorial would give you the proper procedures for cleaning and adjusting the carbs and is the only way to do the job properly.

It sounds to me that you have two issues in addition to a wonky starter ( did you check and clean the connections from the solenoid to the starter?). The carbs and fuel system sound like issue one and I'm betting your valves need adjusting as this is usually the main cause of hard starting.