'82 650GS carb issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'82 650GS carb issue

I have searched the forum and can't find an answer to what I am looking for.

I recently got a '82 650GS GL from a kid headed off to basic. I *know* that it ran as I seen it running. Before I got it, he took the carbs somewhere and had them rebuilt.

The kid was very unorganized and basically scattered everything every where when he was taking it apart.

I was a mechanic for almost 10 years, so I'm mechanically inclined but I am not too familiar with bikes. I went out and bought a service manual but it does not show me what I need to know.

It has 4 carbs and I do not know where what hose goes where.

Firstly, I need to know where these two guys are supposed to run to:

Is there a diagram somewhere that would show me where ever line and vacuum hose goes to and from the carb? That's what I've been looking for and cannot find.

Thank you!
    Last edited by Guest; 12-20-2010, 03:53 PM.

Here ya go.

Larry D
    1980 GS450S
    1981 GS450S
    2003 Heritage Softtail

Comment

Those are vent lines. The hoses typically run up and simply lay on top of the airbox somewhere.

Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment

Vents? They literally dump fuel when I open up the petcock. Something must be wrong with the carbs then?

Thank you SO much Larry. My google-fu was failing me, as I've been looking for days.

Comment

You're welcome.

The carbs will more than likely need new orings, you can find most of the info on rebuilding the carbs here. If you find that your petcock is faulty, it's best to buy a new one, vice trying to rebuild it, IMHO.

Larry D