Got my jug of carb cleaner today

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Got my jug of carb cleaner today

On the guide on this site it says to 'dip' the small parts. What are the small parts exactly? anything metallic thats not the bodys?

does this include the little filter piece that holds the needle jet, springs, choke/starter jet, and various screws and washers?

This is my first time and really dont want to mess it up.

Dip metal parts only. Nothing plastic or rubber. Allow the parts to soak for several hours, or long enough to remove the grunge.
    Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment

Originally posted by Nessism View Post
      Allow the parts to soak for several hours, or long enough to remove the grunge.
      Just keep in mind that "several hours" might range from 3-4 hours all the way to 24 hours, depending on how long it has been since the bike was running properly.

If the bike is a daily driver and runs well, and you are just going to freshen the carbs with new o-rings, a few hours for each carb (and its parts) will probably suffice. If it is a project bike and you have no idea how long it's been sitting, just go for the full day. Yeah, that's four full days of waiting for carb parts in "the dip", then part of another day re-assembling and tuning, but you will only have to do it ONCE.

sigpic
      mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
      hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
      #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
      #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
      Family Portrait
      Siblings and Spouses
      Mom's first ride