Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1978 GS 1000 - Video Tech Support Request

All,
    I'm a newbie to GS-1000 ownership - but I think - just think - that I have some crap in one of the carbs on my 3rd owner 50,000 mile old girl :-)
    I shot some video - and I'm hoping that someone will be able to confirm my thoughts via the sound of the engine, occasional backfires, and such.
    Additional details not in the video - this bike has had a fresh set of plugs a few days ago, this helped, but did not fix the problem, likewise for a cleaning of both sets of points. Fortunately, I can ride it - she just doesn't produce the full amount of power or get the best gas mileage - plus I assume I'm ticking off people with sensitive ears :-)
    Video below - thanks in advance!
    -Joey
    78 GS 1000
    82 Honda CB450SC (Currently stored)

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. SandPVRR,

That's a pretty good looking skunk you have there.

There is a standard list of maintenance duties for these 30 year old bikes. Rubber is old, parts are gummed up, electrical connections are corroded, etc. Everything starts with properly cleaned carbs and a valve adjustment. I don't mean taking off the float bowls and spritzing the main jet with some carb cleaner. They must be completely disassembled and dipped in carb cleaner for up to 24 hours. You'll find most of the detail you need in the links below. You'll want to reference the VM carb rebuild guide to start.

What do the plugs look like? Is there good spark on all? If the petcock is leaking it can foul the #3 plug. Have you checked the compression? If it's been sitting a while a ring could be stuck. But it should un-stick once you start riding it.

Anyway, let me dump a TON if information on you and share some GS lovin'.

I just stopped by to welcome you to the forum in my own, special way.