Carb or petcock problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Carb or petcock problem

I have a 78 GS1000E that I've been tinkering with for almost 2 years resurrecting her. Not all stock. I have pod filters and a 4 into 1 exhaust.

I have rebuilt a complete set of carbs (courtesy of a very good GSR member), installed the O-ring kit and boot o-rings from Mr. Robert Barr. I completely disassembled the carbs and dipped everything that I could. Used a nylon brush to get the harder stuff off. Per the advice of people at Z1 and on here, I moved the needle to position #4, installed 102.5 main jets, and thought that the rebuild went well. Bike is running, but extremely rich.

I did some research and some of the symptoms point to a bad petcock. Mine is brand new (well, it was when I bought it last year, a universal from Z1 Enterprises) and shouldn't have any issues.

Problem is, carb #3 (which I have been mistakenly calling carb #2) has a lot of fuel coming out of the overflow tube after a bike ride. Ends up being about the size of a baseball on the cardboard box that I have placed under my bike to check for leaks.

Came across some threads that state it may be a bad petcock. I pulled the vacuum hose from carb #2 and sure enough, there is some fuel in there. And, when I took the oil cap off and smelled it, smelled like gas.

So, now I am a little more confused than I was before I started doing some research on my problem(s).

Is it possible that I have a bad petcock? Is it something more serious? And, what is the cheapest JASO-MA type oil that I can buy? I am currently using Shell Rotella, but if something is cheaper and works the same, I would like to save a buck or two when possible.