Exhaust question an d a few minor things~

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Exhaust question an d a few minor things~

So first i want to say thanks to everyone for helping me out. I just started riding again after 4 months of heavy workload at my job and trying to do work on the bike (clean the carbs). In the end i took it to a shop.

I wasn't strong enuff to do what the bikecliff website said to do and i didn't have to the time to figure it out. these guys were great that did it and since i had all the parts it wasn't very expensive.

One thing they told me though for Mikuni carbs is not to disband them from the gang plank. Suzuki puts a seal connecting the carbs together, so when taken apart the seal is broken and it leaks constantly. If other's agree with this info perhaps spread it along so others don't make the that mistake. In all the research i've done it's never mentioned.

My exhaust question is this:

I see smoke coming out of the exhaust and I think it's blue, that means unburned fuel correct?

I also keep smelling gas. My carbs are clean. The intake boots are new with Viton O-rings. i don't have a leak coming from the carbs at all, but this is very similar to the problem i was having originally when i began trying to fix everything. I also have a new petcock installed.

I've been riding now since last saturday. tonight the engine seemed to drag a little, like there was a struggle for power. not a big struggle though b'cuz the engine still hummed pretty smooth. I haven't done a carb sync yet since the cleaning so i was going to get on that this weekend.

Will that fix the blue smoke, poor gas mileage and intermittent lack of power?

Originally posted by Dmajiq View Post

One thing they told me though for Mikuni carbs is not to disband them from the gang plank. Suzuki puts a seal connecting the carbs together, so when taken apart the seal is broken and it leaks constantly.
    BS. They can't be cleaned properly without thing them apart.