79 GS1000 with CV carbs is this correct

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

79 GS1000 with CV carbs is this correct

I just started cleaning the carbs from my stock 79 GS1000 and all the parts diagrams I can find for a 79 show mechanical carbs. The ones that came from my bike are CV carbs. Did Suzuki put CV's on this year? What are the chances someone put different set of carbs on my bike? Did Suzuki change the carbs late in the model year to CV's. I am also looking for a rebuild kit for them. The vacuum needle has 5050 stamped on it and they look thick and not much taper. The main jet I pulled from them are 107's and the slow jet are 40's. Are these the correct jets for this bike? None of the rebuild kits have this main jet in the kit. The ones I have been looking at are for a 80 or 81, those parts match what I have.

Pretty sure those are the wrong carbs. I'm not an expert, but I did just do the carbs on my '79 1000. They were VM26's I think. No reason those won't work though, if they're the right size. You'll just need some help sorting them out. You've come to the right place. Just wait and someone will be along soon to help. Or fix you up with a set of the right carbs.

Comment

The change to CV was in 80.What is the date of manufacture?Past Sept or so it's a 80.

Comment

Either way, you do not need to buy "rebuild kits". 99% of the time all you need is a new set of O-rings, and new bowl gaskets. The o-rings can be found at cycleorings.com it's a full set of every o-ring you need exept the manifold to head o-rings that almost always need to be replaced as these are a major cause of air intake leaks. (the boots between the carbs and the head) you will need to order those too when you get the orings for your carbs.

Click the link in my Sig for a whole world of info including the carb tutorials you will need. Take no shortcuts, trust me on this.

Comment