Carb/petcock help, '81GS250

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Carb/petcock help, '81GS250

1. Took apart the petcock and replaced all the rubber seals I could order new, and cleaned it. After installation, fuel supply will not shut off, regardless of switch position. I'm assuming it is the diaphragm. However, these are not available new, without ordering the whole petcock assembly for $100! They are not even listed with a part # on the microfiche. So, does anybody know of a source for new diaphragms? If not, what about another model petcock that I could pick one up used, that has parts available for it?

2. I'm a complete noob at carbureted bikes. Took the carbs off and rebuilt/cleaned them. I didn't replace any of the jets, but I did take them out and blow them out with compressed air. After re-installing them, there is clearly something not right. Because of problem #1, there is a constant flow of fuel. This causes fuel to run out of the right (carb w/ petcock vacuum hose) side carb and into the airbox. Is this supposed to do this because of problem #1?

Thanks for any help!

Item 1 is best solved with new petcock- repairing seems to have poor success. Try Z-1 enterprises- maybe $50?????
    Item 2 means your carb cleaning work was inadequate- even with constant flowing petcock, the carb float/shutoff valve can hold back the fuel for a while. Follow the link to Basscliff's site and review carb cleaning. Taking shortcuts will lead to frustration. This is very common problem on recently acquired bikes, so read up.
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. waphill,