new here and need some advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

new here and need some advice

HI my name is william, and i just bought a 81 gs650l for 300 bucks and need some carb help, when i picked up this bike i was told that it ran but needed a petcock, because it would not stop flowing fuel (had locking pliers on the fuel line when i bought it.

the man i bought it off of said he cleaned the carbs but could never get it running right.

when i brought it home i seen it had no air filter but it would run if i held the throttle wide open when i let off and it dyes it will puke gas every were.

i am new to Suzuki's and was wanting to know were to start my guess is that the floats need some adjusting but not sure were to begin

thanks in advance

Hello and welcome.

There's a rebuild guide for CV carbs at BassCliff's site:

You don't need rebuild kits, just new o-rings. The petcock may well be due for replacement. With no air filter it's probably going to be running very lean. You should try to find a new one (I understand that can be difficult with some 650s though).

There's a link to BassCliff's welcome from his site. Pay particular attention to the top 10 issues. Your bike is bound to need a lot of catch-up on maintenace: valve adjustment, carbs rebuilt, airbox sealed (and filter replaced), intake boot o-rings, brake calipers and masters rebuilt, etc.

Comment

Wait one minute! We need pictures of your bike.

Daniel

Comment

ill have to get some pics up tomorrow and thanks for the welcomes guys

and whats up with the first post being on the bottom of the page ? lol kinda confused me at first.