First ride problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First ride problems

okay so yesterday was kinda nice enough to take the bike out but i starteed having problems. In the middle of the ride the bike stalled, i thought the clutch cable might need placing so no big deal. Then it wouldnt start. So here is what i did maybe some vets can help me i am a noob

Over the winter i been working on the bike so i need gas so i went to the gas startion with a 1 gallon gas tank filled the bike up started it and let it run for a bit no problem. I went around the blocks for a bit then it stalled. It took a minute but it finally started again.. went for about ten minutes stalled again.. took a little longer but finnaly started. Then about 15 minutes later done. but after sitting for few minutes started no problem

the engine just seems like it wont stay above stalling level

I has a similar problem last fall. Battery was too week to keep it going. I charged the battery overnight and it ran fine. Good luck.
    PS I plan on replacing my battery this spring.

Comment

Along with having a decently charged battery, fuel has to make it to carbs consistently. Check that petcock is working as designed- I check mine first time out, in case it didn't like winter.
      1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

yeah im gonna do the whole fuel system

Comment

Soooooo, you've cleaned and rebuilt the carbs, adjusted your valve clearances, sealed any intake leaks at the airbox and carb boots, and checked your petcock for proper function and are still having issues?

Comment

Originally posted by TheCafeKid View Post
            Soooooo, you've cleaned and rebuilt the carbs, adjusted your valve clearances, sealed any intake leaks at the airbox and carb boots, and checked your petcock for proper function and are still having issues?