1979 gs750e wont idle after adjusting floats

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1979 gs750e wont idle after adjusting floats

first i am new to bikes but not cars and carbs. i bought a 79 gs750e that had sat for 15 years. i lined tank and rebuilt petcock and carbs and installed modified volocity stack pods and the exhaust is stock but has 4 holes in each tip. i first set the float hight at 26mm and i had both the jet needle spacers above the clip. it would idle fine but was way lean and would die when you quick throttled it. pulled off carbs and moved small spacer under e-clip and moved it down 1. spot #2 and put 105 jets in it. set floats to 23 mm. now that it is back on it will start on the choke bit even with the idle screw all the way in it drops to 500 rpm than stalls. if i hold the throttle up it will idle fine. its rich when i rev it now but it revs good. i have adjusted the air piolt every way and still wont idle. what did i do to it that it wont idle now? what should i set my piolt air and fuel screw at? i have read a thousand different ones. i am at 1.5 on each now.

I see nobody has yet addressed your question of pilot air and fuel screws, so I'll get the party started. Cliff should be along shortly with your mega-welcome

I recall reading that air should be twice the fuel.

My 2 cents would be to go back to stock on everything, and change one thing at a time. The float settings should be stock. Your guess is as good as mine on that one, as there are a number of published numbers for them, but I know a few people on here have been happy at 24mm.

7/8 air and 2 fuel comes to mind as a starting point. EDIT- I see I had that backwards. Thanks for catch, Basscliff
    Last edited by BigD_83; 06-05-2012, 02:25 AM.
    '83 GS650G
    '83 GS550es (didn't like the colours in the 80's, but they've grown on me)

Comment

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. 87-turbo,