SS socket bolts for carbs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SS socket bolts for carbs?

So I am rebuilding my carbs, and I had seen a suggestion of replacing the screws with SS socket type screws (hex). I decided to go for this and ordered the screws from mcmaster-carr; got them for the the float bowls, caps, top rail, and bottom rail....

Being a novice mechanic I decided to read about the use of SS screws in aluminum parts and there seem to be varying opinions; some say that they are better because they're easier to get off, don't rust, look better, etc. while others say that they are prone to getting stuck because of the differences in the metals. I plan to use anti-seize to combat this.

Please someone educate me on this; hoping I didn't make the wrong choice in spending 35 bucks on SS fasteners (they were only available on mcmaster-carr in packs of 25; I needed 4 different sizes). I just don't want to introduce any NEW problems down the line. Hoping I didn't waste my money

Edit: obviously meant "screws" in the thread title but it won't let me change it.
    Last edited by Guest; 09-13-2012, 04:18 PM.

There is no practical reason not to use the SS screws in aluminum, or as in the case of carbs, pot metal. The difference is not so great as to cause any real world dielectric problems. If you have ever tried using a stainless bolt in a stainless thread of the same hardness, then you know of a real problem, the threads can easily gall.
    "Nobody goes there anymore, it's too crowded" -Yogi Berra
    GS Valve Shim Club http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=122394
    1978 GS1000EC Back home with DJ
    1979 GS1000SN The new hope
    1986 VFR700F2 Recycled

Comment

a dab of anti seize on each bolt/screw and you will have no problems.you could have got them much cheaper than that by the way. Z1 or cycleorings ( i think) do specific kits with just the right amount for a set of carbs.
      1978 GS1085.