gs650e starting issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gs650e starting issue

So I just bought my step father old 81 gs650e. It ran when he parked it 4 years ago, but basically sat for all that time.

He was nice enough to deliver it for me on a trailer and he had the bike running, as long as he used the choke. I replaced the battery, oil, oil filter, sparkplugs, and got new tires for it.

I started it back up and got it to run with the choke on, but it didn't want to idle at the same rpm, it would go up and down 3-400 rpm just sitting on choke, even after running for a few minutes.

I tried applying throttle to rev it up and it would either die, or only rev up to 35-4500 then lose power. I thought it was an idle issue so started playing with the idle adjust screw, and now it won't start at all, with or without choke.

I am hoping not to have to tear the carb apart. I have limited mechanical experience, but i can follow bikecliff's guides pretty well. Any suggestions?

Originally posted by GreedyRogue View Post
    I am hoping not to have to tear the carb apart. ... Any suggestions?
    Just one.

You mentioned "BassCliff's guides", so you already know about them.

My suggestion: FOLLOW THEM.

There is NO short-cutting, you WILL have to take the carbs apart and clean them to get the bike running correctly. If you don't want to do that yourself, there are several of us here that offer a carb rebuilding service. Prices are rather similar among us, the basic service will be pretty much the same, it's probably down to which one can offer any "extras" like paint or polish.

Hint, hint.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride