Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chirp and a burst of smoke?

Hello

I recently adjust my vavle clearances, yesterday finished up to be precise. Prior to the adjustment I could not get the .02 feeler under any of them. After I had clearances range from .03 to .06 through out. I do notice the bike runs much better. The bike has 13,700 miles on it.

I went out for a spin today and notice a chirp noise while riding. I got home and let it idle while I looked it over. Turns out the chirp noise is coming from #4 intake boot right where it meets the engine. It chirps and a small puff of smoke exits a very small space. I have new boots and seals for it and will be changing them out next week.

Question, any opinion on what is causing the chirp and little burst of smoke? It seems to me that the bike needs new boots and seals and that should stop it?

I am new to all this so I am just guessing based on what I have learned so far.

Thanks

An air leak like that can cause a back fire which would cause the smoke. Put the boots on and see what she runs like. Did you vacuum synch your carbs after you did the valve job and adjust the mixture screws for each carb?
    Rob
    1983 1100ES, 98' ST1100, 02' DR-Z400E and a few other 'bits and pieces'
    Are you on the GSR Google Earth Map yet? http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=170533

Comment

Maybe Tweety Bird is smoking a joint in there.
      "Men will never be free until Mark learns to do The Twist."

-Denis D'shaker

79 GS750N

Comment

Originally posted by azr View Post
        An air leak like that can cause a back fire which would cause the smoke. Put the boots on and see what she runs like. Did you vacuum synch your carbs after you did the valve job and adjust the mixture screw?
        Hello

My list of work on the bike is vac boots and seals next week as well as chain tension er seals, then carb clean and sync then air box boots. I have all the parts. Just cant work on the bike non stop.