Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pilot screw for GS850GL 1980.. 25 bucks????!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pilot screw for GS850GL 1980.. 25 bucks????!!!

Ok..so I've had idle problems from the beginning but really how long are YOU at idle... but after my trip around the west and comparing notes with other riders I figured I wasted 100's of dollars in gas during this trip at about 30-33mpg (sometimes way worse but never better). So I started reading about carbs on BASSCLIFF'S website. As usual I started where I thought I needed to look rather than taking time to read the whole thing on the various Carb articles. So after I ordered the o ring kit from Robert Barr's cycleoring site I finally looked to see how to adjust idle mixture... and lo and behold I found a broken stainless steel pilot screw (the other 3 were brass and I'm assuming original) I tried to upload a picture but i'm still learning this forum. I looked at the manufacturer's website and they want 24.95 plus shipping for the needle valve... a bit much in my opinion but I thought I would take a ride out to the bone yard to see what he's going to have laying around.

I know I'm going to rebuild these now..but would like to have all the parts I KNOW are going to be replaced before I tear too much apart.
    Attached Files
    sigpic
    Well, my days of not taking you seriously have certainly come to a middle.

1980 GS850GL

Yes, that's poor mileage, so best to clean carbs properly( following the tutorial) replace o-rings and inspect jet sizes in case some PO got ambitious. That's the idle mixture screw- usually not shown on parts fiches, where did you see it listed? Don't confuse it with pilot jet needle. Boneyard would be good place to look , especially since you have 3 good ones.
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

If you need a pilot screw, why were you pricing needle valves?